BLACK CANYON AND INSCRIPTION CANYON (SAN BERNARDINO COUNTY, CALIFORNIA), 1949-1968 AND UNDATED (BULK DATES 1949-1958)
338 negatives: ASA001-364 – 701
Box 2. Box 6: 26 degraded negatives ASA001-408, 412, 427, 431, 434, 435, 436, 442, 443, 453, 468, 469, 471, 472, 473, 475, 512, 514, 515, 516, 532, 553, 556, 561, 626, 670
Twenty-seven sub-series in chronological order
Howe led many ASA trips to Black Canyon and Inscription Canyon, a small arroyo at the north end of Black Canyon (Pederson, 1956/1984; Howe, 1980). He found the bird petroglyph that ASA adopted as its logo; the bird is about 20 feet above the road and has a wing-span of over two feet (Pederson, 1953/1983). The petroglyph is unique in the area although a similar bird petroglyph occurs 120 miles away (Haenszel, 1972/n.d.). In 1953, the ASA posted a sign, “This is Black Canyon,” telling visitors about the canyon and asking them to “live in peace with this extraordinary place” (ASA, 1953/1984).
Charles LaMonk donated several of his reproductions of petroglyphs in Inscription Canyon to ASA (ASA LaMonk Nos. 9, 10, 14, 35, 38, 40, 69, 77 prepared in 1954 and ASA LaMonk no. 46 prepared in 1964).
Photographs include some taken in Inscription Canyon. This collection has no photographs of the ASA trip in June 1966 to attempt to repair damage by vandals (Howe, 1966).
Black Canyon, April 1960
15 negatives: ASA001-646 – 670
Petroglyphs and scenes of trash and vandalism in the canyon.
Petroglyph of corn symbols superimposed on a sheep. Photograph was published as Plate 39 in A prehistory of Black Canyon (Howe, 1980). See also: ASA001-380 is same petroglyph in 1949
The images in this collection are copyrighted. Images may be displayed, copied, or used for personal study only. Written permission to reproduce an image for electronic or print publication may be obtained from California State University San Bernardino's Pfau Library Special Collections.
Charles, Clayton, Howe, photograph, image, california, petroglyph, archaeology, site