### California State University, San Bernardino

## **CSUSB ScholarWorks**

**CSUSB Faculty Senate records** 

Arthur E. Nelson University Archives

4-13-2021

## Faculty Senate of California State University, San Bernardino Resolution on COE Dean Early Review

**CSUSB Faculty Senate** 

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.lib.csusb.edu/facultysenate

#### **Recommended Citation**

CSUSB Faculty Senate, "Faculty Senate of California State University, San Bernardino Resolution on COE Dean Early Review" (2021). CSUSB Faculty Senate records. 471.

https://scholarworks.lib.csusb.edu/facultysenate/471

This Document is brought to you for free and open access by the Arthur E. Nelson University Archives at CSUSB ScholarWorks. It has been accepted for inclusion in CSUSB Faculty Senate records by an authorized administrator of CSUSB ScholarWorks. For more information, please contact scholarworks@csusb.edu.



# Academic Affairs Faculty Senate

#### Faculty Senate of California State University, San Bernardino

#### **Resolution on COE Dean Early Review**

April 13, 2021

**Whereas:** In August 2020, twenty-one faculty called for an early review of COE Dean DomNwachukwu; and

Whereas: Provost McMahan denied the request on September 10; and

**Whereas:** The COE faculty voted for an early review of the COE Dean in the Fall of 2020, with 69% of tenure-line faculty voting in favor; and

**Whereas:** The college elected five faculty members to the review committee based on FAM 651.3 and senate Bylaws; and

**Whereas:** Provost McMahan asked an elected member to resign based on a "conflict of interest," without substantiation; and

**Whereas:** The basis for Provost McMahan's conflict of interest claim has proven to be without merit, the process of review has been delayed for several months, leaving limited time for the committee to complete the review by the end of the academic year. Be it therefore

**Resolved:** That Provost McMahan officially constitute and charge the committee no later than April 15, 2021, with the five duly elected members—Sherri Franklin-Guy, Andrew Hughes, Mark Groen, Todd Jennings, Stanley Swartz and three others appointed as stipulated by the FAM; and be it further

**Resolved:** That Provost McMahan fulfill her obligations to support the committee fully and refrain from further interference with the committee's work in any and all aspects.

FSD 20:20

Approved By the CSUSB Faculty Senate on April 13, 2021