### California State University, San Bernardino

### **CSUSB ScholarWorks**

**CSUSB Staff Council records** 

Arthur E. Nelson University Archives

7-28-2021

## Staff Council Regular Meeting Minutes (7/28/2021)

**CSUSB Staff Council** 

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.lib.csusb.edu/staffcouncil

#### **Recommended Citation**

CSUSB Staff Council, "Staff Council Regular Meeting Minutes (7/28/2021)" (2021). CSUSB Staff Council records. 174.

https://scholarworks.lib.csusb.edu/staffcouncil/174

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Arthur E. Nelson University Archives at CSUSB ScholarWorks. It has been accepted for inclusion in CSUSB Staff Council records by an authorized administrator of CSUSB ScholarWorks. For more information, please contact scholarworks@csusb.edu.



# STAFF COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES

#### July 28, 2021 | 2:00 pm

California State University, San Bernardino *ZOOM Link:* https://csusb.zoom.us/j/85645784284

I. CALL TO ORDER – Called to order at 2:09 p.m.

#### II. ROLL CALL

**Present:** Patricia Aguilera, Marina Andrews, Ian Banuelos, Tiffany Bookman, Stacy Brooks, Jessica Madrigal, Rodrigo Mercado, Judith Osorio, Auvenida Pena, Diana Quijano, Dusty Faye Rushia, Lorena Segovia

Apologies: Kim Hunsaker, Jaime Espinoza

**Absent:** Lonelle Minesinger

Guest: Elizabeth Junker, Nominee

#### III. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Attachment: Minutes of July 14, 2021

M/Jessica Madrigal S/ Stacy Brooks Unanimously approved.

#### IV. APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

M/ Auvenida Pena S/Ian Banuelos Unanimously approved.

#### V. PUBLIC COMMENT

Public comment is designated as a time for the public to address the Staff Council during a scheduled meeting on items of business or issues/concerns.

#### VI. REPORTS

- a. Chair, Tiffany Bookman: Today we will finalize our Executive Committee positions. Once we have the EC in place, they will need to request new student representation from ASI and a new faculty representative from Faculty Senate for this year. Today we will begin to establish our committee formation. Once committees are formed new committee chairs will be selected.
- b. Vice Chair, Vacant
- c. Secretary, Diana Quijano
- d. Treasurer, Vacant
- e. Committee Chairs

- i. Bylaws Committee,
- ii. Events Committee,
- iii. Staff Recognition Committee,
- iv. Staff Emergency Fund,
- f. Staff Council Members
- VII. PRESENTATIONS None
- VIII. OLD BUSINESS None
- IX. NEW BUSINESS

#### A. ACTION ITEM: APPOINTMENT OF STAFF COUNCIL MEMBER

Discuss approval of addition of Elizabeth Junker as SC member.

Motion to accept Elizabeth Junker's as a member of staff council. Vote was unanimous to confirm Elizabeth Junker a member of Staff Council.

#### **B. ACTION ITEM: SC EVENTS COMMITTEE MEMBERS**

Staff Council will select the committee members to serve on the Events Committee.

Members who will serve on the Events Committee: Diana Quijano, Auvenida Pena, Lonelle Minesinger, Stacy Brooks, Lorena Segovia, Rodrigo, Mercado, Dusty Rushia

#### C. ACTION ITEM: SC BYLAWS COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Staff Council will select the committee members to serve on the Bylaws Committee.

Members who will serve on the By-Laws Committee: Jessica Madrigal, Ian Banuelos

#### D. ACTION ITEM: SC STAFF RECOGNITION COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Staff Council will select the committee members to serve on the Staff Recognition Committee.

Members who will serve on the Staff Recognition Committee: Lonelle Minesinger, Dusty Rushia, Rodrigo Mercado, Liz Junker

#### E. ACTION ITEM: COLLECT NOMS FOR STAFF EMERGENCY FUND COMMITTEE

EC shall seek nomination for the Staff Emergency Fund Committee. This committee is to consist of five members, one being the current treasurer.

The Staff Council Treasurer serves on this committee, along with four council members.

Nominees for the Staff Emergency Fund: Patricia Aguilera, Diana Quijano, Auvenida Pena, Judith Osorio.

The nominees were approved unanimously by the Staff Council. This committee is now closed with the five members being: Patricia Aguilera, Diana Quijano, Auvenida Pena, Judith Osorio, and Stacy Brooks, Treasurer.

#### F. ACTION ITEMS: REQUEST FOR REPRESENTATION OF SC MEMBERS

1. Appointment of Staff Council member to the Associate VP for Philanthropic Givingsearch committee.

Self-nominee: Auvenida Pena. Unanimously approved.

- 2. Appointment of Staff Council member to IT Governance Executive Committee *Nominee: Ian Banuelos. Unanimously approved.*
- 3. Appointment of Staff Council members (3) to WASC Accreditation shared governance committee.

This will include the chair of SC.

Nominees: Patricia Aguilera, Stacy Brooks. Approved unanimously.

**Request for review**: As committees we are being asked to serve on has increased, as are our hours of service, council members requested inquiry and reevaluation of the four-hour approval of release for staff council activity.

Staff Council will reinstate the use of our form for requests for staff council representation and make sure that the question about the estimated time requirement is included. This will allow council members to consider the required time commitment when agreeing to serve on a university committee. It was noted that when the by-laws were written and the provision for 4-hours was included, we were not yet getting the requests for staff representation and the four hours was initially for meetings and events. Meetings require at least 3-hr monthly. This item will be brought to Doug by the EC for consideration. If we are required to produce data or form a subcommittee as follow-up to support this request, we will do so.

# **G. ACTION ITEM: CONFIRMATION OF 21/22 EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE ELECTION RESULTS**Staff Council will confirm the 21/22 EC election results.

The Qualtrics survey results confirm that the duly elected Executive Council for 2021-2022 are: Jessica Madrigal, Chair; Lorena Segovia, Vice-Chair; Stacy Brooks, Treasurer; Diana Quijano, Secretary.

Gavel was passed to Jessica Madrigal as the newly elected Chair of Staff Council.

#### X. ANNOUNCEMENTS

XI. ADJOURNMENT: 2:58 p.m.